How to record a demo including player info

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Nikooo777, 12 Jan 2013.

  1. Nikooo777

    Nikooo777 Well-Known Member Staff Member Head Admin Administrator EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5'429
    Likes Received:
    1'073
    Welcome to this short tutorial,
    Some of you may not know how to record a demo,
    a demo is a little "movie" that can only be played within the game, it's useful to record good frags, cheaters, or weird things.

    First of all open up the console if you haven't already:
    http://forum.elite-hunterz.info/sho...-enable-your-console-in-Counter-Strike-Source (thanks Winter)

    then you must be in a server in order to record.

    go to the console and type:
    record demoname
    (demoname can be anything you want!)

    hit enter

    you are now recording, whatever you see, will be recorded!

    to include the info of the players (needed for a ban request for example) type:
    status (i heard it breaks the demos actually, it will probably be fixed in an update so i'll list it here)
    or smac_status (only admins)
    or sb_status (i heard this one breaks it too)


    once finished recording type:
    stop
    your demo will be in your cstrike folder:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\steam\steamapps\yourname\counter strike source\cstrike (this depends on your OS so it might be different but you'll find your way)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 13 Jan 2013
    YoungBuck likes this.
  2. got blunt

    got blunt BANNED

    Joined:
    3 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    11
    how to play demo and menu ingame plus command for console

    This is how you play the demo,that you have been recording, open console`` first press A than you can write in console, when you just type playdemo all your demo's in your cstrike folder will show automatic, than choose the one who you wanna see, and press enter: now your demo will load and play, for the menu press shift f2
    so you can pause the demo or play it slow or what ever any ways, if your checking demo of suspected wallhacker, best is to put this in console, so you can see the players/zombies behind the walls wich is r_drawothermodels 2. can be usefulll!

    have fun!
     
    Last edited: 12 Jan 2013
  3. Enissay

    Enissay Retired SPA/HA Retired SPA/HA Donator

    Joined:
    21 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    126
    To make things a bit easier (for n00bs), you can put these two files in your ..\cstrike\cfg folder:

    In game, when you press DEL once, it will start recording demo1 + smac_status + showkeys
    When you press DEL again, it will stop recording demo1

    You can record till demo20, afterwhat, it will restart from demo1, and depending on your OS, if you have already a demo1.dem file in your cstrike directory, it may be overwritten (ie WinXP) or renamed (ie Win7 add a number at the end of the new file)... So, be sure to clean up this directory regularly

    So when finished, the demo is located in your ..\cstrike folder, to be renamed and/or uploaded to sourceban...

    If your DEL key is already binded to something else, open autoexec.cfg and change DEL to whatever other key you like (http://tobys.eu/cs-source-scripting-aliases-f24/bindable-key-list-t8.html)

    Cheers

    Enissay
     
    Last edited: 22 Jul 2018
    Lifeless, PengS, Haze and 2 others like this.
  4. Gutterhulk

    Gutterhulk Ex-Admin Ex Admin

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    smac_status = You don't have access to this command (On Glass_Wars), however sb_status works
     
  5. Nikooo777

    Nikooo777 Well-Known Member Staff Member Head Admin Administrator EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5'429
    Likes Received:
    1'073
    yes i noticed that :/

    thanks for reporting
     
  6. Bazinga!

    Bazinga! Well-Known Member Donator

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hello Gentlemen,

    I have several Questions.

    ***********************************************************
    |
    | |
    |Hey @Enissay, thank you for putting up the CFGs. Sadly the links |are down.
    ***********************************************************



    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    |So what is the command to use?
    |
    |"record demo1 +smac_status +showkeys" did no work for me
    |
    |but what works is
    |
    |record demo1 +showkeys
    |
    |and even
    |
    |record demo1 showkeys
    |
    |so why is smac_status not working for me
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    |
    |If I use
    |record demo1 showkeys
    |

    |the keys are not shown if I playback the Demo.
    |How to see the keys in playback?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



    ##############################
    |Additional Question: Is + smac_status + showkeys specific to Elite-Hunterz Server?
    |
    |showkeys is this mod I guess? https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=1333354
    |and SourceMod Anti-Cheat alllows smac_status right?
    ##############################
     
    Last edited: 21 Mar 2017
  7. Lotus

    Lotus Boomer Retired SPA/HA Donator

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    1'613
    Likes Received:
    485
    @Bazinga!
     
    Bazinga! likes this.
  8. Bazinga!

    Bazinga! Well-Known Member Donator

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    @Lotus
    The keys are not shown if I playback the Demo.
    How to see the keys in playback?

    If I download a demo from the Bans
    and play it, the keys are shown!
     
    Last edited: 23 Mar 2017
  9. Bazinga!

    Bazinga! Well-Known Member Donator

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17

    Attached Files:

  10. Lotus

    Lotus Boomer Retired SPA/HA Donator

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    1'613
    Likes Received:
    485
    @Bazinga! Don't quote me on this, but i believe you have to do

    record demo1; showkeys


    edit: just tested, can confirm this is how to do it
     
    Last edited: 23 Mar 2017
    Bazinga! likes this.
  11. Bazinga!

    Bazinga! Well-Known Member Donator

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    59349318.jpg

    Worked!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.