High Ping Problem!

Discussion in '[CS:S] EliteHunterZ's ZombieHunting & more' started by The pain, 16 Feb 2013.

  1. The pain

    The pain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    My friends and I have a high ping at EH server(s). We all live in UAE - United Arab Emirates
    This problem happened 3 days ago and we have no clue what the reason is..
    Any other German server is fine, the ping is quite normal.
    Is there any suggestion to fix/solve the problem ?
     
  2. Dani

    Dani Ex-Admin Ex Admin

    Joined:
    18 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    No.. If Server is getting full. We all have higher Pings as normal. Countries from "far" away like UAE or Iraq , China etc have this heavy Problem 2..
     
  3. winter

    winter Ex-Admin Ex Admin

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have the same problem when im in my gf's house, she doesnt have so good internet+i live in spain= ping goes up to 150 sometimes. The EH's servers is not that laggy i think, i usually have a ping of 60-70 with 20-30 players, but when server gets full it rises up until 100 or so. You can test and "play" a little with the rates, or get a better internet :p.
     
  4. Deanburger

    Deanburger Retired SPA/HA Retired SPA/HA EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    1'742
    Likes Received:
    141
    I have the same problem and happened at the same time. Every other server is fine but the EH ones are over 100, it happened before but it seemed to just go away after a while. No idea what causes it.
     
  5. Neo

    Neo Ex-Admin Ex Admin

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    5
    that problem happend to me a few months ago, but it went after a day
     
  6. The pain

    The pain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Problem solved !! :D
    Who ever has the problem you must reboot your router :D
     
  7. Deanburger

    Deanburger Retired SPA/HA Retired SPA/HA EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    1'742
    Likes Received:
    141
    Already have numerous times ^^ one of the first things I did.
     
  8. The pain

    The pain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    check ur steam cloud download region
     
  9. Deanburger

    Deanburger Retired SPA/HA Retired SPA/HA EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    1'742
    Likes Received:
    141
    xd7vLVM.png

    Awesome..
     
  10. Nikooo777

    Nikooo777 Well-Known Member Staff Member Head Admin Administrator EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5'429
    Likes Received:
    1'073
    The issue is cause by ISP's bad routing. Unfortunately there's nothing we cant do. You can contact your isp and tell them that you are having a too high response time from our ip (specify it) and they might eventually re-route the traffic
     
  11. Vydx

    Vydx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    17
    wouldn't bad routing result in 'loss'? I looked at my net_graph yesterday and I didn't get any loss.

    Well I wasn't lagging yesterday so my input isn't really valid, but in the past days I was getting lagg spikes reaching 200ms and sometimes even more..

    Makes sense to say it was my ISP as I couldn't load any EH server from my favorite list during those lagg spikes.
     
  12. Nikooo777

    Nikooo777 Well-Known Member Staff Member Head Admin Administrator EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5'429
    Likes Received:
    1'073
    All eh servers? We have 2 different ips so it's very unlikely that both servers lag at the same time like that. Anyway a bad routing doesnt forcefully mean a loss. Image mailing me a postcard from italy to switzerland, a good route makes it happen in few hours, what if they pass from china instead? It will take weeks before i get it, but not forcefully i will get half postcard
     
  13. MisterPringles

    MisterPringles Ex-Admin Ex Admin

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    55
    Well if it pass from china, watch out for white powder...(bad joke) I didnt see any lagg on all servers, it changes from time to time ...
     
  14. Vydx

    Vydx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    17
    My bad, should've said I couldn't load any EH server I was ON during those lagg spikes, not that I couldn't load any ^^. I assumed it was all EH servers by looking how there wasn't v1, v2, v3 and v5 in my favorite list upon refreshing.

    About the bad routing, makes sense to me as it does not necessarily mean that some of the info gets 'lost' if there is a high response time. nice analogy btw :>
     
  15. Vydx

    Vydx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    17
    Okay I'm not sure if this is only me, but for example yesterday every now and then I got what seems to me as a server freeze:

    Everything just stops moving for up to 10seconds except the round time (And it's not the thing with 'Autoconnection problems', it is pretty wierd because after the freeze, at times ppl yell 'LAGG' and at other times they don't).

    Thing is that my ping is normal (60ish ms) during those freezes or w/e, but I know that something is wrong because I again fail to see v1, v2, v3 and v5 upon refreshing favourite list (not sure about whether v4 was there or not)

    I believe it can't be a restart either because the map stays the same..
     
  16. Dani

    Dani Ex-Admin Ex Admin

    Joined:
    18 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    Everyone have it.. I dunno why.. Yesterday it was extreme!
     
  17. Nikooo777

    Nikooo777 Well-Known Member Staff Member Head Admin Administrator EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5'429
    Likes Received:
    1'073
    ummh weird! i am not sure what the cause could be, i'll doublecheck that the SSD has enough space
     
  18. Nikooo777

    Nikooo777 Well-Known Member Staff Member Head Admin Administrator EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5'429
    Likes Received:
    1'073
    ye SSD was low on space, i freed it up a lilbit, let me know if it still freezes
     
  19. Vydx

    Vydx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    17
    Writing this as I'm on v4, me and danini are witness to this freeze that still persists (I did 'thetime' in game: 18:12 GMT +1) and this time I noticed that none of the EH servers were present at my favourite list
     
  20. Nikooo777

    Nikooo777 Well-Known Member Staff Member Head Admin Administrator EliteHunterz Clan Member

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5'429
    Likes Received:
    1'073
    ok, sourcemod and metamod are a bit unstable, advaldo is updating them, perhaps this is the cause
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.